2014 Scholarships Recipients

2014 Scholarships Recipients

  by    0   0

 Ken McEnroe Scholarship

McEnroe 2014The 2014 Ken McEnroe Scholarship was awarded to TRHS graduates Holly Hines and Alex Cottingham.  Ken’s family established this scholarship to honor Ken and his many contributions to our community where he was actively involved in a number of professional organizations, civic activities and area youth sports.

Holly Hines, daughter of D. Scott and Laurie Hines, is graduating in the top of her class and has plans to attend Central Michigan University where she will pursue a degree in biology.  Hines will continue to play women’s golf at CMU and aspires to play golf in the LPGA someday. Hines’ athletic career includes numerous awards and recognition for both basketball and golf.

Selected as the male recipient for the Ken McEnroe Scholarship is Alex Cottingham, the son of Chad and Kristen Cottingham.  Ranked 9th in his class, Cottingham has been accepted at Liberty University in Lynchburg, Virginia where he will purse general studies. Throughout high school Cottingham has had a remarkable athletic career where he participated in football, basketball, and track and field.  His recognition includes Academic All  State Honorable Mention in Football, Honorable Mention All Conference Punter, 1st Team All Conference Quarterback and 1st Team All Conference Defensive End.

Class of 2014 Three Rivers High School graduate Kayla Turner was awarded $5,000 through the following scholarships administered through the Three Rivers Area Community Foundation:

  • Glenn Rifenberg Community Scholarship
  • John T. Nykun Scholarship
  • Pauline E. Abshire and Florence E. Warner Art Scholarship

Kayla, daughter of Gary and Alicia Turner, plans to attend Michigan State University in the fall to study Arts and Humanities and Environmental Economics and Policy. After college she hopes to volunteer in the Peace Corps. Ultimately, she aspires to start an outreach program in South America that allows villages to become self-dependent through the implementation of agricultural and sustainability projects.

Lucile Shafer Haring and Sheila J. Haring Scholarship

Taylor Katsaros, daughter of Christopher and Jill Katsaros, is the recipient of the 2014 Lucile Shafer Haring and Shield J. Haring Scholarship. This $1,000 4-year renewable scholarship is awarded to a Three Rivers High School graduate wishing to pursue a degree in teaching. Taylor plans to attend Spring Arbor University this fall to study Early Childhood Education.

Burnell Booko Nursing Scholarship

Autumn Johnson is the recipient of the 2014 Burnell Booko Nursing Scholarship. This $500 scholarship is awarded to a Three Rivers area student intending to pursue nursing at an institute of higher learning. Autumn is a graduate of Howardsville Christian School (class of 2013) and is currently attending Liberty University where she plans to receive her BSN in nursing.

Adam Learn #27 Memorial Scholarship

The Three Rivers Area Community Foundation presented eight students from Three Rivers High School graduating class of 2014 each a $500 scholarship. Adam Learn, the son of Monty and Vicki Learn, passed away unexpectedly in a tragic diving accident while swimming with friends. He was an avid outdoorsman and an excellent athlete who wore the number #27. In memory of Adam, this scholarship was established to honor the life he lived. The 2014 recipients of this sch0larship are:

  • Alicia Schmidtendorff
  • Connor Smith
  • Richard Mauldin II
  • Holly Hines
  • Joshua Zagrzebski
  • Kristin Chapman
  • Alex Cottingham
  • Logan Kutz

James E. Clark Marketing Scholarship

The James E. Clark Marketing Scholarship is awarded to a Three Rivers High School graduate who participated in the Connor Smith-resizedDistributive Education Club of America (DECA) program. Three Rivers High School class of 2014 graduate Kristin Chapman is the recipient of this scholarship. Kristin, daughter of Darrell and Ellen Chapman, plans to attend Liberty University this fall.

Edward “Coach” T. Johnson and Patricia Johnson Scholarship

This $500 scholarship is awarded to Three Rivers High School graduates who played either golf or basketball and are pursuing higher education. Holly Hines is recipient of this scholarship for golf. Connor Smith (pictured to the right) was awarded the basketball scholarship. Connor, son of Larry and Deborah Smith, was a member of the Three Rivers High School basketball team for 3 years. He plans to attend Cornell University in the fall where he will study Economics and Law.

Carleton and Ruth Poe Scholarship

This $750 4-year renewable scholarship is awarded to a St. Joseph or Cass County high school graduate and current member or child/grandchild of member in good standing at the Newberg Baptist Church enrolled in an institution of higher learning. This year’s recipient of the Carleton and Ruth Poe Scholarship is Gillian Cupp. Gillian is a 2005 graduate of Centreville High School and is currently attending Glen Oaks Community College. She is in the Glen Oaks nursing program and hopes to work as an RN in the area upon graduation.

Comments are closed.